The Seven Dolors of the Blessed Virgin Mary

seven dolorsPopular devotion to the Sorrows of Our Blessed Lady, whom the Holy Church invokes as Queen of Martyrs, led, in the Middle Ages, to the institution of several local festivals, such as that, still kept in some places, of Our Lady’s Compassion. The devotion was fostered by the Holy Founders of the Servite Order who seem to have been the first to distinguish and enumerate the Seven Dolors. It has been raised by Pius X to the rank of a double of the second class.

(Source: The New Roman Missal, Rev. F. X. Lasance)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s